Lean-tos, Bowers, and Totems

While in Tofino back in October, I had a great time taking photos of the girls on the beach in the various lean-tos we found made of driftwood.  My inspiration for taking these photos stemmed from one of my all time favourite books.  It’s called “BUILDERS of the Pacific Coast” by Lloyd Kahn (2008) (I’m having an APA nightmare from my university days – sorry I hope I’ve referenced enough!).  Lloyd Kahn basically spent 2 years photographing “counterculture” carpenters along the Pacific Coast whose homes and structures are made from the logs and rocks in their natural surroundings – lots on Vancouver Island to my surprise – I LOVE this book and simply cannot put it down at times.  Here’s a sample of my photos…

IMG_0497

Beach combers under the lean-to

IMG_0429

This bower actually appeared in his book - it's a fish

IMG_0425

Glass blowers' studio and gallery

IMG_0428

Hand blown glass in the drift wood

IMG_0505

A driftwood Muskoka chair

IMG_0503

Nature girls

IMG_0436

West Coast Totem Pole

I am so looking forward to my next trip to Tofino and getting my hands on a copy of Lloyd Kahn’s second book entitled “Home Work”.

One thought on “Lean-tos, Bowers, and Totems

Leave a comment