Spring Break 2011…

This spring break brought us 2 whole weeks off!! It was lovely I must admit that for sure. During our second week off, Lynda, John and Benno from Ontario visited us for a week. We had a great time with hiking local trails and enjoying the scenery VI has to offer. Although I would have to say the highlight of the trip for me was visiting Seattle for a few days. I truly believe a change of scenery is good for the soul. Now to try and upload some photos…

the girls and the Space Needle

Low and behold…I have figured out the problem…the part I love most about visiting Seattle is going to Pike Place Market…I wish we had more time to explore there…but it was nice to spend a bit of time there regardless…

Pike Place Market

 

the cooper pig

We also walked along First Avenue to Pioneer Square and we were so excited about the Underground Tour that we decided to take it!!  It was very cool indeed…downtown Seattle was originally built at tide level and the town experienced flooding everytime the tide was high!!  Then a huge fire burned most of the buildings down and the town was rebuilt an entire storey higher…we saw the old town way underground (obviously) and it was a very interesting tour!!                                  

glass blocks from the sidewalk up above current street level

The kids were also very excited to see the mummies and shrunken heads at Ye Ol’ Curiosity Shop at the Pier…Brian and I had visited this store many years ago and we had seen the mummies on television.   Definitely worth checking out if you’re into that kind of stuff.  And last but not least, I loved the Trader Joe’s stores that we walked to and I mean we saw parts of Seattle I’ve never seen before due to our quest to find these locations.  I love the Lavender Soap and I cannot wait to get more supplies when we visit Trader Joe’s in Pittsburg PA this summer!!!

Auntie Lynda and the girls really did go up the Space Needle!!

Leave a Reply

