Flashback: Canning Fun

It feels like the typical wet West Coast weather is finally here.  The rain has been coming down relentlessly for the last 2 weeks.  I’m amazed the creek running through our backyard has not overflowed yet.  This is a sure sign to bring out the comfort food!  Alas I have cracked into the canned goods that I made at the end of the summer.  The one canned item that everyone in the family seems to love the most is the Dilly Beans.  I had never really tried these before and my running partner SD kept going on and on about them that I simply couldn’t resist.  So when I found the recipe for Dilly Beans in a new canning book I purchased I thought I’d give it a try…

Fresh local beans waiting to be turned into Dilly Beans!

I found the Dilly Bean recipe in the above book called “The Beginner’s Guide to Preserving Food at Home” by Janet Chadwick (2009).  I really love this book for its straightforward recipes and the vast amount of information for preserving food by drying, freezing, root cellaring etc.  I highly recommend it!

Little C putting the beans in canning jars

I’m always amazed by the level of interest Little C has in partaking in my crazy kitchen adventures.  She was so keen to put the fresh beans and dill and other ingrediants into the jars.  And it was a great help for me because her tiny hands could fit in the jars! 

My trusted little helper

Yummy Dilly Beans

And my friend SD was treated to a jar and she said they were simply divine

2 thoughts on “Flashback: Canning Fun

Leave a Reply

