Planting: Part 2

The most memorable thing about this Remembrance Day, aside from the many soldiers who lost their lives for our country, was the constant change in the weather.  It was sunny, it was rainy, it was cloudy – over and over all day.  I guess that’s living on the West Coast.  I was particularly tuned into the weather because we had many things planned for the outdoors on this day:  finding clay concretions, going to Farm Hands and planting our garlic before the first frost!   The farming and planting happened – clay concretions will have to wait for another day – little C had to pee and it was raining 😦

IMG_0674

PORCELAIN - Russian Hardneck variety - our garlic bulbs

I truly have a bee in my bonnet when it comes to buying garlic in the grocery store.   It seems harder and harder to find garlic grown from anywhere in Canada let alone local.   Where is it coming from ?  China ofcourse.  I managed to find some local garlic from a farm in late August  and I’m afraid I only have a few months supply left.  So I am growing my own garlic.  I think it’s in my blood to do this.  I have vivid memories of my grandfather growing garlic and holding it up to show us like a prized fish!  Too funny.

IMG_0680

Big C planting bulbs in compost/soil mixture

I had time in the afternoon to prime the garden area while the kids were at the farm.  Ah quiet time without the kids – need I say more?  By the time we got home it was already dusk at 4:20 pm which I think is crazy.  Who really benefits from that time change anyway?  Chloe was pretty keen to get those garlic bulbs in the ground!  We saved one to put in a pot for indoor growth.  Yet another “thing” whose growth we’ll be monitoring over the next few weeks

IMG_0684

Chloe planting garlic

I made a couple of finds earlier in the day in the garden…

IMG_0665

The last purple cabbage to be harvested

Now I’ll have to make purple cabbage soup or who knows maybe even purple cabbage rolls.

IMG_0666

A cute family of mushrooms

This is the best time of year to find mushrooms on the coast.  For the life of me, I cannot identify the above although I’ve only looked in our Guide to Western Mushrooms.  They’re probably the most common type of mushroom out here that they didn’t even bother to include it in our book!  I think it’s the Lactarius deliciosus.  The kids are always on the look out for the fairy ring mushroom.  Wish us luck

Leave a Reply

